Last Request

Michelle Truman
1 min readAug 2, 2022
Purple Poetry // Last Request

In this sappy, saccharine sonnet, I explore deep love at a distance much as I did in my Nonsonnet. Inspired by my (then latent) feelings for the man who would become my husband, these poems are among my favorites. They have stood the test of time, with over a decade between their first publication on DeviantArt and the recent import to Vocal and Medium.

I’d walk for miles beneath the moonlit sky

With shards of glass embedded in my skin

To see the one whose love for which I’d die

A love that I would give the world to win

His smile is all I need to get me through

His arms are strong and yet his touch is mild

My heart belongs to him for he is true

A friend to calm my inner trembling child

My wish for him is simple and mundane

A longing for the man that has my heart

A pining cry that echoes in my brain

For that same one that rendered it apart

Of Death I ask to promise only this:

To wait for me until I taste his kiss

--

--

Michelle Truman

Michelle Truman lives in a small town in MO with her spouse, kid, and cats. She enjoys writing, crafting, painting, drawing, sculpting, and general creativity.