My Salvation

Michelle Truman
1 min readJul 26, 2022
Purple Poetry // My Salvation

This short free verse poem, originally published on DeviantArt, reflects on the transformative power of love. When my personal demons were at their loudest, darkest, strongest–when all seemed lost–I met the man I would come to marry nearly a decade later. His friendship, and his love, helped me piece together the broken bits and make myself whole again.

You brightened the darkness in my soul

A glistening diamond in the rough

No one else has ever filled me with as much joy

And no one else has ever touched me so deeply

As you

When you reached out to me

You reached inside of me

And gave light to the depths of a blackened soul

You lit a flame to warm the icy hollow of my heart

And upon the walls of my mind

You painted your face

So that every moment I can see it

And every time I close my eyes

You are there.

--

--

Michelle Truman

Michelle Truman lives in a small town in MO with her spouse, kid, and cats. She enjoys writing, crafting, painting, drawing, sculpting, and general creativity.